How To…#5

31 May

How To Combat Frizz

This will be rather brief I promise 🙂 It will just include a few easy tips I’ve gathered on how to combat frizzy-ness in your hair. I’m one of those people that has extremely frizzy hair in humid weather. So whenever I’m back in Malaysia, I get unmanageable hair but when I’m in the UK, my hair tends to get really smooth and tame. It is really frustrating! So here are some helpful tips that I have tried myself and so far I think it has worked, but needs some perseverance as it does take some time to see the results.

source: fashionshowphotos.net

1. When shampooing your hair, don’t pile all the hair on top of the head. I know we tend to copy the hairdressers when they do this with style in the salon, but apparently it isn’t good for frizz-prone hair as it encourages the cuticles to stand on end? I don’t know, it sounds ridiculous when I say it hehe. So just distribute the shampoo evenly all along your long mane probably at the nape of the neck.

2. Don’t towel-dry your hair, as in don’t rub your hair vigorously using your towel like most people usually do to let it dry asap. It would actually roughen up the hair cuticles which will make it appear frizzy. Instead squeeze the water out gently by not twisting it.

3. Shampoo only 2-3 times a week, as the natural oils are good to fight frizz.

4. Finish your shower with cold water.

5. Comb your wet hair using a wide-tooth comb. If you don’t have one, just don’t comb your hair until it is just damp and not wet.

6. Use a frizz-ease serum. One that works wonder is John Frieda Frizz Ease Serum

7. Apply a smoothing mask 1-2 times a month to condition the hair.

8. Point the blow-dryer down the hair shaft or downwards, to make the cuticles lie flat.

source: fashionshowphotos.net

9. Curl your hair using a curling tong, somehow it makes frizzy hair appear more “natural” and noticeably smooth.

10.Try Moroccan Oil, I heard it does wonders to your hair especially for dry, brittle and frizzy hair. A lot of Hollywood celebrities swear by it.

source: lookfantastic.com

Sorry for the short hiatus, I have been rather busy with a new project that I shall share soon 🙂

Have a fantastic Tuesday!

2 Responses to “How To…#5”

  1. Jess Johan June 1, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Cibs, good one. Lucky for me I’ve discovered it through accidental trial and error 2 years ago when i came to Sydney. The blow drying downwards and curling hair really works. My hair is naturally frizzy, but when i do that, its usually gone and ppl actually think ive gone to the salon to do it! All those years i spent so much money at the salon every few days to wash and blow.. Oh god.. kill me now. Hurts my heart!sigh.. Great post!

    • happytoasts June 1, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 That’s what I thought, I thought you still go to the salon every few days! Your hair is always so immaculate! Well at least you get salon-styled hair minus the money. When are you doing my hair? Haha

Leave a Reply

