Beauty In A Box

25 May

When I first found out about this ingenious idea from a US site called BirchBox, the first thing I did was finding out whether or not they have the same concept in Msia, by using none other than Google. But the search engine failed me, so I started googling UK and yet again to no avail. That was last year.


Alright, I’m a little ahead of myself here. A little intro, before I confuse you with my inside story…

BirchBox is a company that sends you a monthly box of high-end beauty products that you wouldn’t normally purchase/try. Ok maybe some might purchase or try it, but a majority wouldn’t just because it is either too expensive to be splurging your money on an item you might/might not like or you have never heard of the brand. For me, it is definitely a combination of both.

So this company will send you around probably 5-10 sample sizes of different products ranging from haircare, skincare, make-up etc. so that if you like it enough, you can purchase a full-size bottle on their site. All you need to do is subscribe to them for USD10 monthly and you will receive a beautifully packaged box monthly. Termination of the subscription is easy and with no questions asked. So you can stop and start whenever you feel like it.

That is not what makes it attractive. What makes it attractive is that the sample sizes are HUGE, or substantial enough for you to have a good few weeks worth, which is almost like owning a full-size bottle. Some of us are bored easily by the same product, well this option gives you the flexibility without exactly putting a whole in your pocket. I thought this is heaven for beauty-lovers like myself.

Ok now back to the story…

Just recently I learnt that UK has now jumped on that bandwagon with a company called GlossyBox.Instead of 5-10 samples, they mainly concentrated on 5 high-end beauty products to start off with. And already the first box (in the month of May) they started off with has NARS illuminator in it, with a 30ml tube. That is a huge amount that usually retails at about £20 the very least. Like the BirchBox, you only need to pay  £10 monthly to get this amazing box monthly. There are already a flood of videos about it from UK YouTube make-up gurus about this company. Even the packaging is worth your penny;

I just hope and pray that something like this would come to Malaysia soon, as it is a brilliant idea. But until then, I’ll most definitely look into subscribing to this GlossyBox once I’m back in the UK  🙂

If you’re in the UK or US for that matter, why not have your own beauty in a box monthly?

2 Responses to “Beauty In A Box”

  1. Laura June 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I’ve recently found out about BirchBox, and boy, I sure wish Malaysia had something like this! >_< Would definitely save me a lot of dough! 😀

  2. happytoasts June 25, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Hehe yeah. Maybe we should sign a petition for it then maybe someone would create such a company here 🙂

Leave a Reply

